The Naked Advice

Model & Writer Liz LaPoint answers your questions about dating, sex, and relationships

B.J. wrote: “Hi Liz. I have a question…is it normal for a man to prefer oral sex over actual intercourse? It seems when my wife and I engage in intercourse, it’s not as pleasurable for me as when she performs oral sex on me. This has caused some frustration in our marriage but my wife is a good sport about it and fulfills me. I remember hearing Dr. Dean Edelle say that circumcised men prefer oral to intercourse due to the lack of sensitivity from being circumcised. I don’t know if I believe that, but yet I wouldn’t know due to the fact that I am circumcised. I would like your opinion on this. Is this normal? Or common? Thanks for your help.”

Liz says: I’ve never been with a man who preferred oral sex to intercourse (and I’ve had both circumcised and intact boyfriends), so I’m betting the reasons you do are more psychological than physical.

Maybe you are more aroused by the sight of receiving oral (you get a different POV), or it plays more into some Domination and Submission fantasies you have (she’s in a submissive position going down on you & not receiving her own physical pleasure).

You could also have pregnancy anxieties from engaging in vaginal intercourse, and getting a blow job allows you to relax more.

One physical benefit to receiving oral is the ease at which she can also stimulate your testicles, I suppose. There’s also the fact that you might be using condoms during intercourse, thereby decreasing sensation, but that seems so obvious a reason that I would think you’d have mentioned it if condoms played a role.

I think men who prefer oral sex over vaginal intercourse are in the minority, and I’m not basing that only on my personal experience. Here is a poll that showed only 11% of men who said receiving oral sex was their favorite. But does the fact that you’re in this minority mean there’s something wrong with you? Of course not!

Your letter brings up a controversial topic that usually results in heated discussions: male circumcision. Should it be legal to perform body modifications on a baby? Does it affect a man’s sex life? Are there any health benefits to circumcision? I have a whole lot to say on the matter, but that will be saved for a later blog.

bananas

 

 

One thought on “Why Does He Prefer Oral Sex to Intercourse?

  1. Coyote from Orion says:

    Depending on position. Eye contact can be really conducive to good sex. We could go into a Chasing Amy spiel here on define ‘sex’

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

